The Association of Saints Church Radio Amateurs

ASCRA Board Nominations Open for 2019
Class (2017-2019 Term)

Nominations deadline for election to the ASCRA Board of Directors 2019
Class (2017-2019)term, has been extended.
A maximum of six (6) nominations may be submitted per member to be received no later than:

23:59 CT, Sunday, March 12, 2017.

Please remind other members you may contact about the nomination deadline.

Please verify that your nominees are willing to serve before you submit their names in nomination. Service as a director may entail travel to Independence, Missouri, or attendance via conference call, for at least one board meeting per year. All nominees should have E-mail capability but this is not a requirement for nomination or serving.

Only one nomination is required to place a willing nominee on the ballot. Each nomination must clearly identify who is making the nominations using a single piece of paper, postcard, E-mail message or phone call to the Secretary. Please list your nominees by name and call sign and include a preferred contact phone number, email, or postal address for each nominee.

Because of the late and extended time frame needed,
Submit nominations to:

ASCRA Secretary Doug Shaw WAØEMX
c/o PO Box 73, Independence, MO 64051-0073
or c/o 11312 E 55th TER, Raytown, MO 64133-2965
by E-mail to wa0emx.doug@gmail.com,
by text message to the cell phone m:816.686.0112)
or by voice call to h:816.358.6856 or to celfon above.

All licensed ASCRA members are eligible for nomination to the 2019 directors class (2017-2019 term), including the following 2017 Class Directors whose terms expire in the Spring of 2017:

Chuck Palmer, (NØONN ), Independence, MO (Treasurer)

Doug Shaw,(WAØEMX), Raytown, MO (Secretary & Trustee)

James Craft, (ADØAC), Independence, MO (Executive Director))

Ray Knapp, Jr., (WA2GTM), Perry, IA

Robin Cross, (WØFEN), Kansas City, MO

Terry Redding, (W6LMJ), De Leon Springs, FL

The following directors in the 2018 directors class (2016-2018 term) are NOT eligible for nomination at this time:

Aaron Beebe,(KD8JQK) , Caro, MI

Chuck Brady,(KAØGFC), Boonville, MO

Ed Briley, (KDØMEI), Independence, MO

Larry Ragan, (NØAIX), Gladstone, MO

Mike Thayer, (KMØS), Jefferson City, MO (President),

T.J. Redding, (KB5EAG), Omaha, NE

The following information describes our organization.

What is ASCRA?
  • The membership is largely radio amateurs who are members of the Community of Christ formerly The Reorganized Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints (RLDS)
  • Why was ASCRA created?
  • David Bland, KD4GH, felt divinely directed in 1975 to organize the hundreds of licensed amateur radio operators within the membership of the RLDS church.
  • Our Purpose as an Affiliated Organization of Community of Christ:

  • To establish, maintain, support, and operate an association of persons commonly interested in amateur radio communication, and

  • legally utilize communication skills and the licenses granted to service our community and, in this way, lessen the burden of government, and service any religious and charitable organization and in this way lessen human suffering.

  • Provide for mutual improvement through the various teaching skills, fostering the professional competence of the amateur radio licensee, and to promote the performance responsibilities, ethics, and general educational level of the amateur radio licensee.

  • Conduct and encourage scientific research and investigation into the radio and electronics art.

  • Do everything necessary, suitable, and proper for the accomplishment of the forgoing purposes and anything which the Board of Directors of the Association may deem conclusive or expedient for the proper conduct of the Association and for the carrying out its purposes.

  • Support the Enduring Principles and Mission Initiatives of Community of Christ through use of amateur radio communications for fellowship and mission needs.

  • To be a public benefit corporation whose purpose shall be religious, charitable, scientific and educational within the meaning of Section 501(c) (3) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, as amended, and to be conducted in accordance with applicable Federal laws and regulations and the laws of the State of Missouri.

  • Other ASCRA features

  • VHF repeaters in Lamoni, Iowa and Independence, MO 147.13/73

  • HF station, W0SHQ, located in the Auditorium, Independence, MO supporting missions and missionaries abroad.

  • Web site, ASCRA.ORG

  • Licensing classes taught annually in Lamoni, Iowa

  • HF fellowship nets Sundays, 2:30 PM Cent., 7.190:\; 3:30 PM Cent., 14.287

  • Quarterly newsletters, In-Service

  • Twelve elected directors

  • Annual business meetings
    P.O. Box 73
    Independence, Missouri USA 64051

    Would you like to do a search for names or keywords available on the ASCRA Web Site??

    search engine by freefind


    Slide Shows Membership Organization Directors
    Bylaws Roster Activities Newsletter

    Other links of Interest to Amateur Radio Operators

    updated 8/27/2016